Home > Linux, RedHat, Virtualization > htop atop tmux on XenServer 6.x

htop atop tmux on XenServer 6.x

Save me from myself if you ever really cared
Save me from myself, tell me you’re not scared
(Damage Plan – Save me)

If you want to run diagnostic commands on XenServer, you’re pretty much limited with available options. Since XenServer is based on RHEL 5.x series, with mostly 32bit libraries installed, we can use packages for RHEL/CentOS 5.x series i386 arch. Three tools that I use most often for initial screening of the servers are htop, atop and tmux. Doing something like ‘xe vm-export‘ and backing up VMs to external USB can be like reading a book in a dark room. There’s no progress bar, there’s no info – nothing. Calculating speed looks something along these lines:

# ls -al pbx.xva; sleep 60; ls -al pbx.xva 
-rw------- 1 root root 13799469056 Dec 13 23:00 pbx.xva 
-rw------- 1 root root 14982000640 Dec 13 23:01 pbx.xva

And after that: (14982000640 – 13799469056 ) / 60 / 1024 / 1024 = 18.79 MB/s. πŸ™‚

Attaching/detaching or sharing sessions is a wet dream… only way to do it is to run tmux on a machine from which you are connecting to SSH of XenServer.

So, after I really got annoyed, I tried to install tmux. Initial tries with 64bit package for CentOS 6 were complaining about missing x86_64 libraries, so I switched to 32bit packages. That didn’t work also, complaining about too new version of rpmlib πŸ™‚ So solution was obvious – use 32bit EPEL packages! These are the packages that I use:

# rpm -qa | egrep '(top|tmux)'
tmux-1.4-3.el5.1
atop-1.27-2.el5
htop-0.8.3-1.el5

Now we’re talking business!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

