Home > Storage > Low cost JBODs…

Low cost JBODs…

I work all night, I work all day, to pay the bills I have to pay
Aint it sad
And still there never seems to be a single penny left for me
Thats too bad
(ABBA – Money money money)

Today I intended to enjoy the ZFS + AVS installation on two SuperMicro JBOD’s. I didn’t have Thumpers in my hands yet, but this supposed to be a training session. Supposed.

On the scene, I learned that JBOD is divided into two parts. Left part (8 disks) connected to controller in slot 3, and right part (8 disks) connected to controller in slot 6. Bad part is that you cannot create arrays between this two parts. So, if you create for example RAID6 on the left side and on the right side, with an idea of striping data across that two arrays – alarm! A bad idea. if one controller dies on you, you loose everything. So what to do? Well, in the best practice of ZFS lowers, I created 8 single disk arrays on every side : )

I know what you’re thinking… You’re thinking this guy’s mad! Well, I’m not. General idea is to create ZFS RAID-10, by combining disk on port1 of left controller with disk on port1 of right controller into mirror, disk on port2 of left controller with disk on port2 of right controller into anthore mirror, and to stripe accross mirrors. This way I’m kinda safe if one controller completly breaks down.

OK, onto the installation. Well, not quite. Solaris 10u7 does not support 3ware controllers, and that’s the exact controller I had to deal with : ( So google says that Solaris Express and OpenSolaris support this particular controller. We’ll see about it next time.

Categories: Storage Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

